Jefferson County politicians named to legislative committees

By Christy Steadman (December 14th, 2018)

The 2019 legislative session begins on Jan. 4, and committee assignments for both the House and Senate for the Democratic and Republican parties have been announced.

Colorado House of Representatives

Along with appointing the chairs, vice chairs and Democratic members of all 11 House committees, Speaker-designate KC Becker, D-Boulder, reorganized various committees. However, the House will have to adopt a House resolution and a House-and-Senate Joint Resolution that authorizes the reorganization of committees at the beginning of the 2019 session.

The re-organized committees are:

The Agriculture, Livestock and Natural Resources Committee will be renamed the Rural Affairs Committee. It will oversee issues important to rural Colorado, such as agriculture, water, rural broadband and rural economic development. Rep.-elect Brianna Titone, D-Arvada, will be a member of this committee.

The Health Insurance and Environment Committee will be renamed the Public Health and Insurance Committee. Titone, as well as Rep.-elect Colin Larson, R-Jefferson County, will also be a member of this committee.

As for committee chairs from Jefferson County, Assistant Majority Leader Rep. Chris Kennedy, D-Lakewood, will preside over the State, Veterans and Military Affairs Committee. Rep.-elect Monica Duran, D-Lakewood, will be a member of this committee.

Kennedy will also serve on the Appropriations Committee.

Read Full Story at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>